Truth in Advertising

I keep seeing a lot of “paramedics, get your RN degree” advertisement. I wonder if Nurses see a lot of “RNs get you MD degee” advertisements? I’d guess not. Ever ask an RN why they didn’t just get a MD? The majority say that RN is different than MD, a few will admit they didn’t want to spend a life time in school.

Why is this different for paramedics? I don’t want to be a nurse, it is different. I’d rather go to PA or MD. A paramedic is more like a PA than a RN. The advertising is proof that we cannot keep good paramedics in EMS with the low wages and no advancement. IF we want to keep paramedics than we need better wages and a career path.

About Joel

I am a paramedic, firefighter and I work for an organ procurement organization. All stories related to work have been altered to HIPPA standards and for the protection of those involved. The personal stories are different. Photography, flying, aviation, hiking, camping, travel, geocaching, amateur radio are a few of my hobbies.
This entry was posted in EMS, EMS 2.0, paramedic and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

