Time

Ever witness the stoppage of time? The strangest things happen at night, that’s why I like working night shifts.

Same familiar setting, nursing home, same type of run, altered mental status. We seem to get these quite a bit. This is not a rant about nursing homes, or AMS or even anything medical.

We make our leisurely walk down the hall way to the patient’s room. I glance off to my left and see two people, one standing and one sitting in a wheel chair. The man is standing on the left side, wearing a red sweater. The female was also wearing a red sweater and leaning to the left in her wheel chair. They were both facing away from us, looking at a canary display, like ones that are becoming common in nursing homes. The bright lights from the live bird display and just one incandescent overhead are the only source of illumination. The man is slowly stroking the woman’s hair, very soft and lovingly. It’s ten thirty at night; the hallways are clear except for these two people. The woman is a resident at the facility; the man (I assume her husband) is visiting. I wish I had skills to draw this scene. In the briefest moment I was witness to true love and compassion.

I was struck by the bond between them. Then I was saddened, the man was obviously losing his soul mate, his wife. I felt the brooding in the air, the despair was heavy.

We should all be so lucky to have what they have.

About Joel

I am a paramedic, firefighter and I work for an organ procurement organization. All stories related to work have been altered to HIPPA standards and for the protection of those involved. The personal stories are different. Photography, flying, aviation, hiking, camping, travel, geocaching, amateur radio are a few of my hobbies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Time « Rescue Monkey -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

