National Fire Academy

There is this little podcast I like to listen to called the EMS Garage. The host has spawned a few podcasts from this original one. EMS Leadership & EMS Educast are the two currently in production.

On episode 35 of the EMS Leadership podcast the guest talks about educational opportunities for EMS professionals at the National Fire Academy in Emmitsburgh, MD. I have attended several classes at the NFA and I can attest to the quality of the information provided. I do believe that people working for private ambulance companies are not eligible to receive reimbursement for travel (and I am not sure if they can even get into the NFA). I hope this has changed, I would like to take more classes there but since I left my fire department job for private EMS, I believe I cannot apply for classes at the NFA.

About Joel

I am a paramedic, firefighter and I work for an organ procurement organization. All stories related to work have been altered to HIPPA standards and for the protection of those involved. The personal stories are different. Photography, flying, aviation, hiking, camping, travel, geocaching, amateur radio are a few of my hobbies.
This entry was posted in EMS, Fire Department. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to National Fire Academy

  1. Yeah – the guest was me. I must admit that I am new to the whole Nat’l Fire Academy process. When I was a firefighter, I did not have an opportunity to attend any of their classes. But now, some 20 years later, I find myself on a team of folks building the new EMS QI course. Technically, it is open to anyone in the EMS community.But… after the webcast, I discovered that students from the private sector would have to pay for some portion (not sure about the details). Public sector EMS personnel would still be free. However, I’m not the definitive source of info on these admin. issues. Contact the National Fire Academy directly for details and questions.

  2. rescuemonkey says:

    Thanks for the reply Mic! I believe the classes them selves are free to anyone. People in private EMS would have to pay for the meal ticket and transportation. Public service employees get reimbursed for a plane ticket, but still have to pay for the meal ticket. Either way it is a great resource for anyone in Fire or EMS. I am interested in learning more about the program you are developing for EMS personnel .

Leave a Reply

