One year later…

I have officially been a paramedic for one year.

My life has changed a lot in the past year. I left the fire service for private ambulance back in October.

I have been trying to keep up with all the medical blogs, podcasts and journals that I can get my hands on, but I am still confused. All the research that I have heard of in the past year shows that ALS interventions really don’t help anyone. Maybe EMS really should revert back to the 1970’s model of just transport and minimal treatment.

The EMS 2.0  movement is still getting off the ground, but without industry wide buy in it will never get anywhere.

I am feeling like my job doesn’t matter and is not needed.

So one year later, I am getting less sleep, the most people think we are just ambulance drivers and I wonder how far off that assumption really is from reality. Maybe I’m just in the doldrums of winter.

About Joel

I am a paramedic, firefighter and I work for an organ procurement organization. All stories related to work have been altered to HIPPA standards and for the protection of those involved. The personal stories are different. Photography, flying, aviation, hiking, camping, travel, geocaching, amateur radio are a few of my hobbies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One year later…

  1. jeramedic says:

    Well my little fury friend, your role in medicine is very needed. Yes there is a lot of research that says ALS has little to no positive effects on patient out comes, and I agree. (when ALS treatments are used inappropriately and or incorrectly) The success of EMS and ALS Care is almost exclusively measured in cardiac arrests, and why not? The stats are easy, they lived or died. How do we measure the effectiveness of pain management, or prophylactic treatments. Perhaps the Albuterol that you give the asthma PT during transport may not be the “life or death” intervention when you get to the ER, but would you rather not give it and find out? And there’s rural vs urban. 5min to a level 1 trauma, you could probably leave the tool box at home. 1hr+ to a basic community ER, you and your patient will be happy you went back to school. As Medics we are educated and equipped for the worst. Should my city get rid of it’s swat team because it’s been years sine a hostage situation? As for EMS 2.0 not succeeding, tell that to A.J Heightmen the editor and chief of JEMS Magazine, as well as editors from Ems Responder and Fire Rescue mag. All who were in attendance at the CoEMS premier. EMS 2.0 is a matter of generations, and the natural progression of the industry. I agree, it sucks being called an ambulance driver. But this is our own fault. We still use a bunch of names to refer to a profession that is difficult to define and describe in the first place. We Are Paramedics.

Leave a Reply

