Abolish the Hate

The past forty eight hours I have seen several twitter posts that claim that the gunman at Fort Hood is linked to the September 11, 2001 terrorists. Yes, the media are encouraging the hatred of others and promoting fear a la 1984 Big Brother.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/northamerica/usa/6521758/Fort-Hood-shooting-Texas-army-killer-linked-to-September-11-terrorists.html

I cannot believe that we still promote this garbage? Why must we associate all Muslims with terrorists? 

Let’s take a historical look at fighting in the name of a deity:

Christians that promote a fear agenda against all other religions tend to forget the atrocities that have been perpetrated in the name of their god. They will also say that more people have been killed in the name of atheism and secularism. Their main culprit is Adolf Hitler (who was actually Christian, no really read Mein Kampf then try to argue that point).

 

I eliminate hatred around me when possible. I have a family member who speaks openly about his dis-like of other ethnic persons. I had an old fire chief that made many statements regarding ethnic persons, sexuality and weight. I even told my trustee to the board of the fire district and nothing ever came of this.  I am my own person and I will not let this poor excuse to keep us all in fear permeate the interwebz.

Dr. Robert Sapolsky studied African Baboons for twenty years. Baboons are known for their extremely violent behavior towards males in their society.  Sapolsky found a troop that actually changed their behavior. No more fights for alpha supremacy. The baboons are the most peaceful troop ever documented.

Isn’t it time we evolve beyond knuckle draggers?

Maybe we should promote hatred based on nationality instead? In the interest of full disclosure I am a relative of Nathan Hale (by marriage). I refuse to apologize to the English crown for the act of treason that our first America spy perpetrated. I am prepared to take all the hate mail from the loyalists. Bring it on!

About Joel

I am a paramedic, firefighter and I work for an organ procurement organization. All stories related to work have been altered to HIPPA standards and for the protection of those involved. The personal stories are different. Photography, flying, aviation, hiking, camping, travel, geocaching, amateur radio are a few of my hobbies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

