Shake-spear

The wife and I went to see a local production of “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”. We have enjoyed season tickets with this acting company for several years. The previous productions of Shakespeare have been very well done, we were expecting similar results.

I am not a stickler for traditional stagings of plays, I like to see new artistic interpretations of the classics. That is, after all, how we advance any art form. The stage was black and white in a spiral checkered pattern. The costumes were from the 60s and 70s. The Oberon character was dressed to be Jimmy Hendrix. Puck was a punk from the late 1970’s spiked hair and all.

The costumes and set design were the least of my woes. The musical interludes and breaking out in song by the characters atributed to the annoyance. The actors had enough trouble reciting their lines in any way that felt natural. I can only hope the director is to blame for the lack of familiarity with the words.

I have never walked out of a performance of a play. My wife even tried talking me into leaving a staging of the “The Crucible” but I stayed to the end. We decided to leave at intermission. Save yourself $25 and rent the movie, it was much better.

About Joel

I am a paramedic, firefighter and I work for an organ procurement organization. All stories related to work have been altered to HIPPA standards and for the protection of those involved. The personal stories are different. Photography, flying, aviation, hiking, camping, travel, geocaching, amateur radio are a few of my hobbies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

