Changes

I had resigned from my full time job at the fire department. I have many reasons, the primary reason was my family. We are fostering a seven year old girl and we need a better schedule. A twenty four hour shift every third day made planning for child care difficult for us.

I have been in the fire service since 1993. I started as a junior fire fighter with my home town volunteer department when I was a a senior in high school. I have had the priveledge to work with some great, intelligent people. I will miss serving on the fire department, making special team runs. I will miss the adrenaline rush of fighting a fire.

I am leaving behind some true friends that I will no longer be able to protect, as I promised their spouces.

I have been drawn to the medical field, my paramedic ticket proved to be one of the most influential experiences. I strive for more knowledge and I am looking forward to future college options in the medical field.

I have accepted a job with a local private ambulance service. I feel like a member of a team now and I look forward to providing the best service I can to my patients.

Thanks for all the years, I have a new journey to begin.

About Joel

I am a paramedic, firefighter and I work for an organ procurement organization. All stories related to work have been altered to HIPPA standards and for the protection of those involved. The personal stories are different. Photography, flying, aviation, hiking, camping, travel, geocaching, amateur radio are a few of my hobbies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Changes

  1. The Mick says:

    Words cannot even begin to describe the hole that will be left in this department, a hole that cannot possibly be filled. I, above all people, know that what you’ve been through over the past several years at the department has been truly difficult to handle at times. I realize that following your callings is a must and that the quest for happiness is never ending. That being said, I will miss the one person with whom I could truly relate to, the one person who kept me on an even keel. You were the one person that I could spill my guts to and not think twice about it.

    Out of all the things that I could possibly say and feel, the one thing that is the most painful is that I will no longer be able to work with my best friend.

    Brother, you are a true friend and one hell of a firefighter. I will fucking miss working with you.

  2. Dad says:

    Best of luck. Having a family means more responsibility. You do the best you can and pray the outcome will be OK.

    Love,
    Dad

Leave a Reply

