NREMT Transition

While compiling my NREMT re-certification paperwork today, I found a few interesting items.

First, and most important, Kentucky Board of Emergency Medical Services (KBEMS)  has opened the transition web course applications for paramedics who will re-certify NREMT in March 2013. You can follow this link for the details. http://kbems.kctcs.edu/News%20and%20Events/newsItem?id=%7B9F459294-4503-4F46-A09C-8844FAF3F85D%7D

Also, from a blog post on the Courier-Journal website, Baptist Health had a press conference on March 1, 2013 where they stated that EMTs in Kentucky will be allowed to perform 12 lead ECGs in the field. I think this is a great idea, especially given that there are many BLS only services in the state. I wonder why KBEMS has not informed the EMTs or Paramedics about this change? The link to the blog post is below, I will continue to search for more details and try to keep you informed.

Team efforts will improve heart attack care in Kentucky

About Joel

I am a paramedic, firefighter and I work for an organ procurement organization. All stories related to work have been altered to HIPPA standards and for the protection of those involved. The personal stories are different. Photography, flying, aviation, hiking, camping, travel, geocaching, amateur radio are a few of my hobbies.
This entry was posted in EMS, EMS 2.0, paramedic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment